My favorite book series!

Outlander

I don’t know whether any of you have heard/seen the trailers, but one of my favorite books is being made into a TV series by the American channel Starz. This new programme – OUTLANDER – is based on the book by the same name (or Cross Stitch if you are from the UK). The book, and a further 7 in the series, were written by Diana Gabaldon, an American author based in Arizona.

Outlander Book Covers

The series is hard to classify in one particular genre, as they merge elements of historical fiction, romance, mystery, adventure and science fiction/fantasy. The first book Outlander (Cross Stitch) was first published in 1991, features 20th Century nurse Claire Randall, who travels through time to 18th Century Scotland and finds adventure & romance with the dashing Jamie Fraser. The 8 book series follows their story through the Jacobite Uprising culminating in the Battle of Culloden and the terrible aftermath. After a long separation where they have each changed, they find each other again and they are taken on an unforseen journey across the ocean, finding themselves in the Colonies. Forging a new life in the Carolina backcountry, they are once again thrust into an oncoming war. I am currently reading the 6th book in the series, and the catch line on the cover reads “Their love has survived the test of time – but can it survive fate?”

Entire Outlander Series including the new book

I have read the first seven books several times, and am nearing the end of another reread in anticipation of the 8th book which was recently released. They have been an absolute favorite since my mum introduced them to me over 10 years ago. I can’t wait until the tv series is aired (hopefully a UK channel will pick it up) so that I can see the characters brought to life. I have been avidly watching the teaser trailers that have been released over the past few months, and it looks like it is going to be good. From following the filming and crew on Facebook I can see that they are trying to stick as close as possible to the original text, and I think they have managed to cast perfectly for the main characters. It will be great to finally watch it come August 9th.

outlander castNew cover for Outlander book

Have you got a favorite book/series? Let me know in the comments. I always love finding a new book to sink my teeth into!

Leave a Reply

